Published: November 11th, 2014
trade paperback -
ISBN 978-1-63023-002-9
Amazon | B & N | Indiebound | Powell's

ebook -
ISBN 978-1-63023-021-0
Amazon | iTunes | Kobo | Nook

Also available as an audio book.

There are superstitions and stories that surround life on the sea, and the men who serve aboard the Coast Guard cutter Adrian are no stranger to either. But when their ship is ice-bound off the coast of Maine in the worst winter in recollection, the hearts and minds of these men are tested. Apparitions appear; unexplained mishaps occur aboard the boat; equipment goes missing. The men are stricken with an unassailable notion that something is coming. Something that should not be possible. Something that should be nothing more than a sea story . . .

The Jonah Watch, Jack Cady’s masterful tale of fear at sea, is written with the gut-wrenching knowledge of a survivor of such an experience. And such a tale is neither true fact nor complete fiction. It is, like all stories told late at night when the skies are dark and the world stretches flat and empty to every horizon, as true as we want it to be.

The Jonah Watch is the first volume in the Cady Collection series.

jack cady


Jack Cady (d. 2004) was an award winning fantasist and horror writer. During his career, he won the Nebula Award, the World Fantasy Award, and the Bram Stoker Award. He taught writing at various academic institutions including the University of Washington and Pacific Lutheran University. He was a conscientious objector during the Korean War, a member of the U. S. Coast Guard in Maine, a truck driver, an auctioneer, a landscaper, and a fervent believer in the value of history as a tool to understanding both politics and writing.